ILA Best Thesis and Best Poster Awards at Twentieth DAE-BRNS National Laser Symposium (NLS-20)

Best Thesis Awards:

The following three thesis presentations were jointly selected for the ILA Best Thesis Award.

  1. A new metal ion doped panchromatic photopolymer for holographic applications.
    V. Pramitha
    Department of Physics, Cochin University of Science and Technology, Cochin, Kerala.
  2. Laser spectroscopic investigations of Lanthanides and Actinides
    A.K. Pulhani
    Laser & Plasma Technology Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai.
  3. High order harmonic generation from preformed plasma plumes
    H. Singhal
    Laser Plasma Division, Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore.

M/s Laser Spectra Services, Bangalore sponsored the award money.

Best Poster Awards:

The following six papers were selected for the ILA best poster award by a committee of judges.

  1. Red Emitting Eu3+:R2MZnO5 nano phosphor for application in solid state white lamps
    R. Rajeswari1, S.S. Babu2, D. Ramachari1, D. Haranath3 and C.K. Jayashankar1,
    1Department of Physics, Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati, 2Directorate of Laser Systems, Research Centre Imarath, Hyderabad, 3LMD Group, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi.
  2. Raman Photoluminescence analysis of irradiated calcium phosphate based bio ceramics
    K. Elayaraja, M.I.Ahymash, K. Thanigairul, V.S. Chandra and S.N. Kalkuva,
    Crystal Growth Centre, Anna University, Chennai.
  3. Development of a Shack Hartmann wave-front sensor for wave-front analysis of large size high peak power laser beam
    S.A. Pai, B. Pant, S. Raja, M.P. Kamath, S. Jain, A.P. Kulkarni, A.S. Joshi, P.A. Naik, P.K. Gupta and P.D. Gupta,
    Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore.
  4. Simultaneous observation of laser-induced photoionization and fluorescence signals in atomic uranium
    M.L. Shah, G.P. Gupta, Vas Dev, B. Dikshit, M.S. Bhatia and B.M. Suri,
    Laser & Plasma Technology Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai.
  5. Coherent random lasing from an array of amplifying aperiodic spherical scatterers
    A.K. Tiwari, B. Chandra, R. Uppu and S. Majumdar,
    Nano-Optics and Mesoscopic Optics Laboratory, TIFR, Mumbai.
  6. Study of strain propagation in laser irradiated silicon crystal by time resolved diffraction of K- alpha X-ray probe of different photon energies
    V. Arora1, S. Bagchi1, M. Gupta2, J.A. Chakera1, A. Gupta2, P.A. Naik1, P. Chaddah2 and P.D. Gupta1,
    1Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore, 2UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore.

These awards were sponsored by M/s Laser Science, Mumbai and Prof. Vinay Srinivasan memorial award money.